Scholarships for visual artists from the member cities

With CityARTists, the NRW KULTURsekretariat 2020 has launched a new funding program in the field of visual arts with a total amount of 50,000 euros, which was developed together with the member cities of the NRWKS.

Every year, a total of ten selected artists in the fields of painting, sculpture, photography and installation, including the border areas of the performing arts, receive a prize in the form of a grant of 5,000 euros each. The prize is aimed at professional artists over 50 who reside in one of the NRWKS member cities.

The nationwide call for entries in all member cities begins on 11.01. and ends on 30.04.2021. After the end of the call for entries, suitable artists will be selected by local juries, one artist per city. The selected artists will then be proposed to a jury of the NRWKS, which will recommend up to ten artists as prize winners at the beginning of September. The award ceremony takes place in early October in one of the member cities.

Within the first cycle, ten artists from ten of the 21 member cities were awarded for the first time in the fall of 2020: Laas Abendroth (Mülheim an der Ruhr), Anne Berlit (Essen), Danuta Karsten (Recklinghausen), Christoph Korn (Wuppertal), Susanne Kümpel (Cologne), Silvia Liebig (Dortmund), Thomas Pöhler (Krefeld), Matthias Schamp (Bochum), Klaus Schmitt (Mönchengladbach) and Josef Schulz (Düsseldorf). The ceremonial awarding in Wuppertal had to be cancelled at short notice due to corona-related cancellations and suspected cases.