About Us

The NRW KULTURsekretariat (NRWKS) is a public-law cultural promotion initiative of the theater- and orchestra-bearing cities and one regional association in North Rhine-Westphalia.

Together with the 21 cities and one regional association as well as other municipal, supra-regional and international cultural partners, the NRWKS, which will be supported by the City of Wuppertal until the end of 2023 and from 1 January 2024 as a self-governing Zweckverband (special-purpose association), initiates, promotes and organises a wide range of programmes, projects and events in the fields of theatre, music, visual arts, literature and dance - often interdisciplinary and experimental.

The focus is on international and digital art and culture as well as on ecological sustainability, cultural diversity and artistic experimentation.

In a cooperative, dialogic and participatory way, the NRWKS connects actors and multipliers from many cultural fields, sets impulses in cultural-political discourses and creates something new for the cities and the state. The NRWKS promotes and connects, initiates and organizes, develops and also transfers the new topics and structures to municipal and other public sponsors.

As part of its international activities, the NRWKS coordinates the International Visitors Program in close cooperation with the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Also in cooperation with the NRW Ministry of Culture, NRWKS has been managing the New Paths profile funding for municipal theaters and orchestras in NRW since the end of 2018.

In addition, the NRW Ministry of Culture provides the NRWKS with special annual funding for the New Music Theater Fund.

Structure and funding

The NRWKS consists of a team of permanent and freelance employees who organize and coordinate the program work in close cooperation with the individual cultural partners, accompanied by selection committees, advisory boards and juries. Chairwoman: Cornelia Wilkens, Münster. Deputy chairman: Miriam Koch, Düsseldorf. Director: Dr. Christian Esch.

The work is steered by the committees Working Committee and Plenary Assembly. In addition, there is a regular program committee at the working level of the participating municipalities. Numerous programs and projects are discussed and decided in advisory boards, juries and boards of trustees.

The institution NRWKS is financed by its partner cities, while project funding is provided by the state of NRW, but program-related funding is also provided by foundations and other sponsors at state and federal level. Funding is provided within the framework of a program adopted annually by the plenary assembly of member cities.

Annual Reports (in German)

What happened in the NRW KULTURsekretariat

Usually every two years, the NRW KULTURsekretariat (NRWKS) publishes an annual report that provides detailed information about the work of the network of cities.

You can read about which programmes and projects have been implemented with which funds in the years since 2007 in the brochures by clicking on the respective link.

Bericht 2020/2021

Bericht 2018/2019

Bericht 2016/2017

Bericht 2013/2015

Bericht 2011/2012

Bericht 2009/2010

Bericht 2007/2008

Annual Programmes 2005 – 2023